Register Log In

Our Board

METS Ignited is governed by an experienced industry-focused Board of Directors from various sectors of the METS innovation ecosystem, including SMEs, multi-national corporations, and R&D. The METS Ignited Board is Chaired by Elizabeth Lewis-Gray.

Chair - Elizabeth Lewis-Gray

Elizabeth is one of the founding members of the METS Growth Centre and was appointed as Chair on 17 February 2015.

Elizabeth is a key advocate for the Australian METS industry. She is the former Chair of Austmine, the peak body for the Australian METS Sector, and also the co-founder and Chairman of Gekko Systems, an Australian METS success story. Elizabeth has successfully held several board positions including a member of the National Precincts Board, the Resources Sector Supplier Advisory Forum, the Innovation Australia Board and its predecessor the Industry Research and Development Board (2006-2013).

Elizabeth is an inductee of the Australian Businesswoman’s Hall of Fame in 2000, a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA), and recipient of several awards including the Warren Centre’s Innovation Heroes Award. As the founder, prior Chair and now Patron of CEEC (Coalition for Eco-Efficient Comminution), Elizabeth was visionary in the formation of this not-for-profit organisation. Prior to her involvement in the mining sector, Elizabeth worked in stockbroking and strategic planning. Her qualifications include a Bachelor Degree in Economics, and a Masters in Business Management.

Dr Peter Lilly

Prior to becoming a professional non-executive director at the end of 2015, Dr Peter Lilly had 40 years's experience of which half was in universities and industrial research organisations, and half in industry where he worked on mining and civil engineering projects in 15 countries.

He is currently on the Boards of the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (which he chairs), METS Ignited Australia Ltd, The Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy Education Endowment Fund, and the Industry Mentoring Network in STEM. Peter is also a member of CSIRO's Mineral Resources Advisory Council, a Member of the Accreditation Council of the Australian Research Management Society, and Chairman of the Inductees Selection Committee for the Australian Prospectors & Miners Hall of Fame. He is a past President of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, and was elected to the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering in 2007.

Paul Lucey

Paul is CEO of Mine Vision Systems and former Head of Technology and Innovation at Gold Fields. He has twenty five year's experience in the resources sector including oil and gas, mineral sands and hard rock mining across Australia, Africa and both North and South America. Paul has a sound knowledge of fix automation, field robotics and visualization, idea adoption techniques, and innovation in conservative organizations.

His wide experience in start-ups in the Information Technology area includes Foundering Director of RIIT/Unearthed, a not for profit company; Director of Disruption Factory, a support to the emerging mining start-up community. Previous roles have included Senior Innovation Associate at VCI and Group Head of Technology and Innovation at Gold Fields and Manager at Agnew.

Dr David Skellern AO

Dr David Skellern is Chairman and Director of the Capital Markets Cooperative Research Centre which provides thought leadership and breakthrough technology solutions for capital and health markets.

Dr Skellern is a successful ICT entrepreneur, with a strong background in research, education, collaboration, and commercialisation. Dr Skellern worked in radioastronomy for 10 years and taught electronics at Sydney and Macquarie Universities for 16 years before coming to prominence in the IT industry through Radiata Inc which he co-founded in 1997 to build wireless LAN chips based on research he led at Macquarie University, in collaboration with the CSIRO. Radiata was acquired by Cisco Systems in 2001. David was on the Board of National ICT Australia (NICTA) in 2003 and he was CEO in 2005 to 2011.

Bernadette Cullinane

Bernadette is Deloitte's Australian Oil, Gas and LNG Leader. She has more than 25 years of experience across the oil and gas value chain and all stages of the capital project to operations lifecycle. Bernadette has worked with companies in the upstream, downstream, midstream, LNG and trading segments as well as in conventional and unconventional oil and gas. Bernadette focuses on supporting Australian and international companies to be globally competitive. Day to day, she helps companies reduce cost, improve business performance and grow.

Prior to joining Deloitte, Bernadette was Managing Director for Energy in Accenture's Perth practice and APAC Energy Lead from 2007 to November 2016. Throughout her career, Bernadette has held a number of senior global oil and gas sector roles, including with Exxon Company International, Esso Singapore and Arthur Anderson. She was also a Vice President in SAIC's Oil and Gas consulting practice (later acquired by Wipro). Bernadette has an MBA from Columbia Business School in New York City, and has BS and MS degrees in Chemical Engineering.

Lyle Bruce

Lyle is an experienced leader, manager and engineer, having spent 35 years in the mining and processing industry, mostly related to technology commercialisation and implementation. He is currently Chairman of three Australian mining technology companies (MineWare, SmartCap and Blast Movement Technologies) and a partner of Jolimont GMS, a specialist investor in mining technology companies.

Lyle was CEO of GroundProbe for ten years, taking this Australian mining technology from university research to commercial success, becoming the world leader in mine slope stability monitoring. He previously held roles with Mount Isa Mine and Rio Tinto, including running MIM Process Technologies.

Winner of several awards, including E&Y Entrepreneur of the Year and the Warren Centre Hero of Innovation, Lyle is passionate about technology implementation and commercialisation, and building the Australian METS sector.